Tags

, , ,

One of the reasons the Atkins Diet doesn’t work for me is my fondness of potatoes. I mean it I won’t give them up. This recipe I came to be because I was making dinner and ran out of butter.

Makes 4 servings

4 potatoes, I used russets but whatever you prefer is fine.
4 ounces of cream cheese
1/4 cup of chives
Milk as needed

I’ll be quick with the instructions because I think most of us know how to make mashed potatoes.

Peel, wash and diced potatoes. Put them in a medium saucepan and cover with water. Bring them to a light boil, don’t boil too fast I’ve done it and all I’ve accomplished is evaporating the water and scorching the potatoes. When they’re tender drain them put them in a bowl or back in the pan. Mash them with a potato masher or if you want them extra smooth use a mixer. That day I used a whisk because I couldn’t find my masher or the beaters for my hand mixer and I didn’t want to dirty more dishes by using my Kitchenaid mixer. Did I mention that day was kind of a disaster? The whisk resulted in some pretty lumpy potatoes but Troy likes them. He likes most cooking failures, burned cookies, overcooked roast beef, etc. I’m guessing that’s what he grew up on. LOL.

Back to the potatoes, add the cream cheese, chives, and add milk until you get your desired consistency.

They’re rich and creamy, didn’t need gravy or butter. I’m sure you could use light or fat free cream cheese if you’re into that sort of thing. I’ve also tried the different savory cream cheeses like the garden vegetable and it was pretty tasty, I bet the jalapeño cream cheese would be amazing!

Enjoy, and have a great day!

