This week I’m going to share some of my favorite treats for Halloween. When my nieces and nephews were younger I used to have a party for them the weekend before Halloween. It was always a big sugar filled celebration with apple bobbing, pumpkin carving, and piñata busting. They’re all grown now and I miss those days. I still make the treats and share them with friends and family. Sometimes Troy will take some to the guys at work.

1. Rice Krispy Treats

Always a favorite and so easy to make. One suggestion I have is use good ingredients. I’ve tried to be cheap and use generic and they just aren’t as good.

You can find the recipe on the Kraft Jet Puffed Marshmallows or the Kellogg’s Rice Krispy Cereal box.

Sometimes I use a heavy duty cookie cutter and cut out shapes. One thing I found on Pinterest was they cut them into rectangles, put them on a stick, and dunked them in white chocolate, and put sprinkles on them. They were really cute.

I’ll put the link here. http://pinterest.com/pin/32158584814616216/

And here’s the link for the Rice Krispy treats http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/marshmallow-rice-krispies-treats-56923.aspx

2. Caramel Apples

Nothing says fall like a crisp apple with soft buttery caramel. There’s many ways to make them. You can slice them and dunk them in caramel dip. I like to warm the caramel and drizzle it over the slices. You can get those little plastic wrapped caramels and melt them in a pan and dunk the apples. My mom was a fan of these things called Wrapples. I’ve seen them recently in the produce department of the market. They come in a bright yellow package. Inside are these round sheets of caramel that you wrap around the apples, insert the stick and put in the oven to soften the caramel.

When it comes to food I don’t take the easy way out. I make as much as I can from scratch. This is the recipe I use. You can also put this in an 8 x 8 pan lined with parchment paper, let it set and cut it into squares. It is delicious!

Ina Garten’s fleur de sel caramels

Just skip pouring the caramel into the 8 x 8 pan let it cool until it’s thick enough to stick to the apples and just dip the apples in the refrigerator to set.

3. Monster Munch Chex Mix

Rice Chex, pretzels, and white chocolate? How can you go wrong?

This isn’t an exact recipe, just kind of a mishmash of yummy ingredients.

I use a half sheet size cookie sheet.
Goldfish pretzels
Rice Chex Cereal
Candy Corn
Wilton Candy Melts- I used white and orange
Mixed nuts
Halloween Sprinkles
Plain popcorn

Line with aluminum foil, put cereal, pretzels, nuts if you want them, on the pan, one option is adding air popped popcorn to the mix. Melt the white chocolate in a double broiler and drizzle it over the mix. Toss to coat, immediately top with some candy corn, and Halloween sprinkles. Then melt orange colored melting discs. I use the Wilton Candy Melts. Also over a double boiler. Take a fork and dunk it in the orange colored melts and drizzle over the mix. You could stop here and let it set or keep going and add black colored melts. Either way when your done drizzling, let it cool until the chocolate is set and break it up and store it in an air tight container.

I’m also going to be making Jersey Devil Cupcakes, Pumpkin Shaped Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting, and some chocolates. I’ll share those in another post so you’re not stuck reading a novel.

I hope you all have a Happy Halloween!

