Tags

, , ,

Today I tried the Clairol a Herbal Essences Dry Shampoo Body Envy. I tried their Naked version back in November and didn’t like it. The biggest problem I had with it is the smell. It almost smelled like nail polish remover. Then it leaked all over my travel bag and it took forever for it to air out. Anyway, I was hesitant to try it, but I was sucked in by the bright tangerine color of the can.

It does have a nice citrus scent. I really wanted to like this product. I love Herbal Essences shampoo and conditioner and I wanted to have this in my hair care arsenal for those days when I am short on time.

It’s very drying, it left a powdery residue in my hair that I couldn’t brush out. If you’ve ever ridden in the back of a pick up truck on a dirt road you’ll know how my hair felt. The can says “1st day clean”, that’s not at all accurate. It did give my hair a lot of texture, something for my curling iron to grab on to.

I probably won’t buy this again. I’ve used the Tresseme version and I prefer theirs to the Herbal Essences.

My second review was also disappointing. The Maybelline Color Elixir by Color Sensational. I so wanted to love these, the colors in the packaging were phenomenal. I was already planning on buying more shades on my next shopping trip.

I purchased the Raspberry Rhapsody, a vibrant orchid shade. The other was Mandarin Rapture a dark coral-orange shade.

I’ll start with the pros. I love the applicator. It’s a tear drop shaped, and kind of fluffy. It gave a pretty precise application. The colors were very wearable. Bright but not too showy. I really liked the texture of the glosses. They weren’t sticky and slick like many glosses out there. They almost felt like a lipstick with a lot of shine.

The cons are few but possible deal breakers. After getting ready I got an awful taste in my mouth like I had inhaled my perfume. I thought maybe I hadn’t washed the hair proud off of my hands and I touched my mouth or something. We’ll after lunch I reapplied the gloss and tasted it again. It was from the Elixir. It’s pretty hard to overlook that. For me anyway. The other is the color. Yes, I know I listed that as a pro as well. The colors look much more vibrant in the packaging than they are when applied. I still liked the colors but I’d hoped for more pigmentation.

If they fixed the weird aftertaste I would buy more, otherwise I’ll stick with my Revlon Just Bitten.

My final review is of the Olay Fresh Effects Makeup Remover Wipes. These are very convenient. They took off most of my eye makeup and foundation without too much tugging. I usually use coconut oil to take off my eye makeup and it’s pretty hard to beat. It’s moisturizing, and gets off everything without much scrubbing even waterproof mascara. I would keep these on hand though for those times when I just want to go to bed and I don’t want to go through my whole big routine.

If you’ve tried any of these products let me know what you thought of them.

20140507-000931.jpg

20140507-000949.jpg

20140507-000955.jpg

