Tags

, ,

I’ve been thinking a lot about how people think about food. How do emotions come into play? I’m a total emotional eater. I eat when I’m happy, when I’m sad. I celebrate any occasion, big or small, with food. My engagement to Troy was marked by a celebratory pizza. The day I left my mind numbing job at a grocery store I treated myself to fries and a strawberry milkshake.

When I was cooking our Easter dinner this pat Sunday I noticed all of the emotions I felt as I prepped each dish. This was my first Easter since I lost my mom. It was the first one that I cooked alone. The first one that I didn’t make her special deviled eggs. She told me I was the only one who made them exactly how she liked them. (She was a very picky eater.)

Everything I made had a memory attached to it. Right down to the pitcher of Watermelon Kool Aid. While I was stirring the sugary pink concoction I was taken back to my childhood when she would make it for me and bring it outside while I played in the sand box. That icy glass pitcher sitting on the picnic table, condensation running down its side.

Some things just don’t feel right without the proper foods being served. A picnic isn’t a picnic without egg salad sandwiches, cans of Coke, and potato chips. Movies without buttery popcorn, and Red Vines? Blasphemy! A trip to the beach isn’t the same without a tote full of Skittles, Starbursts, and Sunkist.

I spoke about the Creamy Jello Dessert in a previous post. My mom made it for Thanksgiving every year. After everyone went home and cleanup was done, she and I would look for the leftover Jello and have a snack of it while talking about how the day had been. I’ve made this dessert a lot since she’s been gone, and every time I do I think of her.

Food evokes so many memories for people. What are your favorite dishes? Why are the your favorites? Is it the taste, or the emotions you feel while you endulge in them that keep you coming back for more?

